©2013 Rivermont Records. All rights reserved.
      This page was last modified on 19 November 2013.

a.k.a. "Buying Rags"

18 Enchanting New Piano Rags Played by the Composers
Rivermont BSW-2228

Ragtime Wizardry may be Rivermont's most important recording to date: a first-of-its-kind collection of modern piano ragtime recorded by the composers themselves. Beloved ragtime supporter Danny Matson commissioned 18 of today's top ragtime pianist-composers to write and record a rag expressly for this special disc, and - after three years in the making - the result is an entertaining and wonderfully diverse sampling of ragtime piano today. While some of the compositions are firmly rooted in the structure and harmonic language of Scott Joplin, Joseph Lamb, and their contemporaries, others draw inspiration from novelty piano, stride, tango, and other idioms. Each is infused with the distinct voice of its composer. From the bouncy folk-flavored "Sierra Nevada Rag" to the gentle syncopations of "Spanish Autumn" to the introspective "It Gets Better," as publisher John Stark might say, here is ragtime that is different! The CD includes a handsome 28-page booklet with full program notes and biographies of each of the composers. 72 minutes.

US $16.00
Your order will be processed by PayPal.

Click on the buttons to hear full-quality audio samples of selected tracks.

1. Better with AgeBill Edwards
2.Sierra Nevada RagKathi Backus
3.Figueroa EchoesJohn Reed-Torres
4.Delphinium RagTom Brier
5. Feelin' Dank, DannyMonty Suffern
6. Rivka Road RagDalton Ridenhour
7. Enchantment RagMax Keenlyside
8.Danny's Rag No. πLarisa Migachyov
9.Cactus CandyMitch Meador
10.Ragtime RalphTerry Waldo
11.Peace Dale MillFrank LiVolsi
12.Spanish AutumnBrian Holland
13.The Jericho TumbleMartin Spitznagel
14.Tiffany Lamp RagVincent Johnson
15.Transplant This! Rag (Or, "O Danny Boys")William McNally
16.Wandering GreybeardsJohn Partridge
17.Thompson Falls RagBryan Wright
18.It Gets BetterW. Brett Youens
Introduction: Danny Matson / Mastering engineer: Bryan Wright / Cover art: Joe Busam